Shane Dorian Wins 2012 Waterman of the Year Award

Big wave surfer Shane Dorian took home the Waterman of the Year Award during the Surf Industry Manufacturer's Association's (SIMA) annual Waterman's Weekend on August 10 and 11. The former ASP pro has continued to push the boundaries of what's possible in big wave surfing over the past decade. In 2011, Dorian took home the Billabong XXL Monster Paddle Award and the Monster Tube Award. Past winners of the Waterman of the Year Award include Kelly Slater, Greg Long, and Laird Hamilton. Here's a quick SIMA write-up on why Dorian took home the award:

Filed To: Water Activities, Surfing

More at Outside

Elsewhere on the Web