August 6, 2012

Lance Armstrong     Photo: U.S. Air Force photo/Airman 1st Class Tabitha M. Mans/Wikimedia

UCI Rejects USADA Role In Armstrong Case

Wants sole control over investigation

On Saturday, cycling’s governing body denied the U.S. Anti-Doping Agency any “authority to act or proceed” on behalf of the UCI or USA Cycling in its investigation into the Lance Armstrong doping case. The New York Daily News reported Friday that the UCI asked USADA to hand over all documents related to the case and to allow the UCI to proceed with the investigation in mid-July. USADA denied the request stating that it would be like having “the fox guarding the henhouse,” partly because of the donation Armstrong made to the UCI and allegations that the organization helped to conceal Armstrong’s doping. The UCI is now suggesting that USADA put the question of jurisdiction before the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

Via VeloNews

0 Comments

Alex Schwazer in Sesto San Giovanni (Italy)     Photo: Marco Togni

Champion Race Walker Caught Doping

Italian excluded from London Olympics

Defending champion race walker Alex Schwazer tested positive for a banned substance and has been pulled from the London Games. The Italian Olympic Committee was informed Monday that the World Anti-Doping Agency found Schwazer to have been taking the banned blood booster EPO. "My career is over. I made a mistake. I wanted to be stronger for this Olympics, I was wrong," Schwazer said in a statement to the ANSA news agency. The 28-year-old athlete took gold at the 2008 Beijing Games, winning the 50K race walk in the Olympic record time of 3 hours, 37 minutes, 9 seconds.

Via ESPN

0 Comments

    Photo: ianpatterson99/Flickr

Man Throws Bottle, Is Hit by Judoka

Do not interrupt the men's Olympic 100m

If you’re going to throw a bottle onto the track before one of the most highly anticipated races in Olympic history, don’t do it with an Olympic judoka sitting nearby. A man who appeared to be heavily intoxicated was arrested after throwing a plastic bottle onto the track a few seconds before the start of the men’s 100m final. But that wasn't his only punishment, according to 32-year-old Dutch judoka Edith Bosch. “He threw that bottle and in my emotion I hit him on the back with the flat of my hand,” Bosch, who won bronze in London, told Dutch station NOS TV. “However, he did make me miss the final, and I am very sad about that. I just cannot understand how someone can do something like that." Olympic officials were unable to confirm whether Bosh actually hit the man, but Sebastian Coe, head of the London Olympics organizing committee, did say: “I’m not suggesting vigilantism. But it is poetic justice that they happened to be sitting next to a judo player.” 

Via Wall Street Journal

0 Comments

Comments