3 Kayakers Tie for the Lead in the Whitewater Grand Prix

Riding down the granite slide on Rio Nevados Photo: Tait Trautman Photography

Three athletes share the lead in the Whitewater Grand Prix with three races in the books. Last year's winner, Dane Jackson, Frenchman Eric Deguil, and Isaac Levinson of the United States have crowded their boats into the top spot with two races left to go. Levinson emerged victorious in the most recent event, a whitewater sprint on the Rio Nevados. Kayakers navigated down a long granite slide before dropping off a waterfall. Nouria Newmann of France took first for the women and holds the overall lead.

Watch a video of the sprint and view the top finishers below:

Top 5 Men, Rio Nevados Whitewater Sprint
1st Place: Isaac Levinson (USA) 1:20.81
2nd Place: Dane Jackson (USA) 1:21.05
3rd Place: Eric Deguil (FRA) 1:21.63
4th Place: Michele Ramazza (ITA) 1:22.14
5th Place: Evan Garcia (USA) 1:22.26

Jakub Nemec on the Wall Drop Photo: Tait Trautman Photography

Top 5 Women, Rio Nevados Whitewater Sprint
1st Place: Nouria Newman (FRA) 1:29.52
2nd Place: Martina Wegman (NLD) 1:33.67
3rd Place: Katrina Van Wijk (CAN) 1:35.16
4th Place: Lu Urwin (NZL) 1:37.54
5th Place: Louise Jull (NZL) 1:45.95

—Joe Spring

Filed To: Paddling
More Adventure