2011 Copp-Dash Inspire Grant Winners Announced


For exclusive access to all of our fitness, gear, adventure, and travel stories, plus discounts on trips, events, and gear, sign up for Outside+ today.

The American Alpine Club announced the winners of the 2011 Copp-Dash Inspire Award on Friday, giving grants to expeditions headed for Alaska and central Asia.

The Copp-Dash Inspire Award is named for Colorado alpinists Jonny Copp and Micah Dash who died in an avalanche along with filmmaker Wade Johnson while reconnoitering the southeast face of Mt. Edgar in China in 2009. Now in their second year, the award supports light-and-fast expeditions to remote, unclimbed peaks,, and is sponsored by gear manufacturers Black Diamond, La Sportiva, Mountain Hardwear, and Patagonia.

This year, five expeditions received grants. Notably, two different teams were awarded funding to attempt the first ascent of the same objective, the Southwest Pillar of K7 West. Kyle Dempster, Jewell Lund, and Kelly Cordes will attempt several routes in southwestern Kyrgyzstan before biking 1,400 miles into Pakistan to climb the peak; Matt McCormick, Pat Goodman, and Will Meinen will attempt both the Southwest Pillar and another “major sub-summit” of K7 West in Nepal.

See the full list of winners here.

Adam Roy

promo logo