Supported by the Copp-Dash Inspire Awards


Get access to everything we publish when you sign up for Outside+.

In May of 2009, climbers Jonny Copp, Micah Dash, and filmmaker Wade Johnson were killed in an avalanche while climbing China's Mount Edgar. Copp frequently shared photos and stories with our magazine and website in the years before he died, and all of the men shared stories with a variety of adventure publications. In honor of Dash and Copp's sharing spirit, a number of organizations came together after their death to create the Copp-Dash Inspire Awards.

The awards offer a total of $20,000 in prizes each year to help fund expeditions and train athletes on how to share their stories via multimedia. Last week, I came across one of the videos from a 2011 expedition that benefited from a Copp-Dash Inspire Award. It's the story of Dave Burdick, Dylan Johnson, and John Freih's climb up the Burkett Needle in the Stikine Icecap region of Alaska. It was a reminder to watch out for the media that will come from the 2012 winners, which I've listed below—just in case you'd like to do the same.

Chris Wright with Geoff Unger: Southeast face of Lunag IV (6,781m). Other possible objectives include Little Lunag (6,492m) and Lunag III (6,795m), all in the Khumbu Himal, Nepal, and unclimbed.

Sam Johnson with Ryan Johnson: 1,400-meter southwest face of Kizil Asker (5,842m) in western Kokshall Too of Kyrgyzstan.

Mike Libecki with Freddie Wilkinson: Belgica-Fabiola-BirgerBergensenfiella area, Antarctica. First ascents on previously unclimbed big walls.

Joshua Lavigne with Jon Walsh: Northwest face of the South Tower of Mount Asgard, Baffin Island, Canada.

Pat Goodman with Jeremy Collins and Brad Jackson: First ascent of Peak 2,600-meter (aka The Phoenix) via a new all-free route up the 700m east face, Logan Mountains, Canada.

H/T: Black Diamond

—Joe Spring