Kenya Selects Olympic Marathon Team

World record holder left off


Kenya’s athletics federation on Wednesday announced that it had chosen its men’s and women’s marathon teams for the upcoming London Olympic Games. Wilson Kipsang and Mary Keitany, winners of Sunday’s London Marathon, head the three-runner squads alongside two-time world champion Abel Kirui, New York City Marathon winner Edna Kiplagat, 2:03:06 runner Moses Mosop, and Priscah Jeptoo. Notably, world record holder Patrick Makau, who dropped out of the London Marathon on Sunday, and 2011 Boston and New York City winner Geoffrey Mutai, who dropped out of the Boston last week, were not chosen. In 2011, Kenyan marathoners won all five marathon majors and ran 24 of the year’s 25 fastest record-legal times, greatly complicating the Olympic selection process. Athletics Kenya appears to have penalized Makau and Mutai for failing to finish races this spring.