Billabong Announces XXL Global Big Wave Nominees


For exclusive access to all of our fitness, gear, adventure, and travel stories, plus discounts on trips, events, and gear, sign up for Outside+ today.

Billabong announced its nominees for the 2011 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards. The awards focus on the biggest waves and wave riders of the year. Five nominees in seven divisions will wait to find out their split of $130,000 in prize money. Divisions include ride of the year, biggest wave, best paddle (no jet-ski assist), best tube, best wipe out, men's best performance, and women's best performance.

Nominees for the Ride of the Year award include Michael Brennan at Tasmania, Danilo Couto at Jaws in Hawaii, Mark Healey in Hawaii, Benjamin Sanchis at Mullaghmore Head, Ireland, and David Scard at Cloudbreak in Fiji. Couto and Healey are also nominated for the best paddle and overall best male performance. Sanchis is also up for the biggest wave award and the overall best male performance.

Easkey Britton, Maya Gabeira, Keala Kennelly, Mercedes Maidana, and Jamilah Star are all nominated for the $5,000 prize for overall best female performance.

Along with surfer nominess, many of the categories also include prizes for the best still photography or video. Check out the video that shows the Ride of the Year nominees on some seriously big waves. Also, head to Billabong XXL to watch more video and see stills from all the different categories.

If you didn't get an invitation to the awards party in California on April 29, check out the webcast that night or watch the awards show on FUEL TV on May 1.

–Mattie Schuler

promo logo