Shane Dorian Wins 2012 Waterman of the Year Award


Get access to everything we publish when you sign up for Outside+.

Big wave surfer Shane Dorian took home the Waterman of the Year Award during the Surf Industry Manufacturer's Association's (SIMA) annual Waterman's Weekend on August 10 and 11. The former ASP pro has continued to push the boundaries of what's possible in big wave surfing over the past decade. In 2011, Dorian took home the Billabong XXL Monster Paddle Award and the Monster Tube Award. Past winners of the Waterman of the Year Award include Kelly Slater, Greg Long, and Laird Hamilton. Here's a quick SIMA write-up on why Dorian took home the award:

Waterman of the Year, Shane Dorian, is known as one of the most influential names in big wave riding today. To see Dorian push over the ledge at Waimea, fearlessly haul into massive waves at Pipe or sky-dive into the maelstrom at Teahupoo is to see the kind of commitment, spirit and surfing that takes one’s breath away. Since turning up on the surf media map in the late ‘80s, he has won a Hawaiian state title, pushed the paddle-in limits on the North Shore’s outer reefs, redefined deep tuberiding at spots like Backdoor, helped spearhead the “New School” of surfing, contended for a world title, towed in at spots like Jaws and continues to be on the frontier of cutting-edge, high-performance surfing. As not only a wave slayer who fears nothing, Dorian also gives back to the Hawaiian community annually during the Shane Dorian Keiki Classic, which spreads the love of surfing for free to Hawaiian youth and collects food for charity.

For more on Dorian, check out his bio on

SIMA handed out two other big wards over the weekend. Surfline founder Sean Collins, who died in December 2011, was named the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award. Jean Michel Cousteau took home the Environmentalist of the Year Award.

H/T: Grind TV

—Joe Spring