Team Radio Shack Announces Team for Tour de France

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

Team RadioShack Director Johan Bruyneel announced the 2010 Tour de France Roster via web video this morning on the Team Radioshack website. The nine-man squad will be representing seven nations, led by Lance Armstrong, Andreas Kloden (Ger), Levi Leipheimer (USA), Chris Horner (USA), Janez Brajikovic (Slo), Sergio Paulinho (Por), Yaroslav Popvych (Ukr), Gregory Rast (Swi) and Dmitriy Muravyez (Kaz).

Armstrong, the record holder for the most Tour de France wins, will be seeking his eighth Tour de France victory. In 2009, Armstrong finished third overall, behind Alberto Contador (Astana) and Andy Schleck (Saxo Bank).

Supporting Armstrong will be Kloden and Leipheimer, who have both appeared on the Tour podium. Kloden was runner-up in 2004 and 2006 (after Floyd Landis was annulled). Leipheimer was third overall in 2007. 

The Tour de France starts in Rotterdam, Netherlands, on Saturday, July 3, and finishes in Paris on Sunday, July 25.

To read more about Armstrong's plans for a comeback, check out our July issue, on newsstands now.

–Shauna Sweeney

Filed to: